Kentish Arms Hotel Address - 23 Stanley St, North Adelaide
Adelaide  Bars
- Advertisment -

About Kentish Arms Hotel
Kentish Arms Hotel
23 Stanley St , North Adelaide
Adelaide, SA, 5006
P:08 8267 1173
One of South Australia's most colorful Inns was the Kentish Arms, founded by a first class cricketer from England John Collard Cocker, the "Father of S.A. cricket". He brought cricket equipment from his homeland and instilled interest of cricket among the colonists and established on Mann Tce, the Kent and Sussex Cricket Club with club rooms at the Kentish Arms. John Cocker designed Adelaide Oval and laid out the first pitch.

Over a century and a quarter this hotel has seen many incidents worthy of record when the Inn contributed a large part to the community life of the young colony. The Pintabis Corroborrees nearby, the sing songs round the back parlor organ, the gay times, the "wakes" were some of them. Many suggestions were made for the erection of a memorial on the site to commemorate the great pioneer of cricket and the hotel industry.
* Disclaimer: While every care is taken to ensure the accuracy of the data, This site does not represent or guarantee the accuracy, reliability, completeness or suitability of its content for any particular purpose. Please contact us if you discover an error.